The Board

We are always looking for dedicated and passionate community members to join our board and committees. If you would like more information about becoming a board or committee member, please contact:

Miriam Barnett, CEO
253 272 4181 x 223

The Board meets the fourth Tuesday of the month in July, September, October, January, February, March, May and June, and the third Tuesday in November and December.

2017-2018 YWCA Pierce County Board Members
Executive Committee  
Janice Phillips, President
Senior Vice President, Columbia Bank
(Joined in 2011)

Laura Wulf, President ELect
Assistant Attorney General, State of WA
(Joined in 2015)

Koree Wick, Past President,
Board Development Committee Chair

Director of Admin Services/Finance,
West Pierce Fire & Rescue
(Joined in 2009)

Clemencia Castro-Woolery, Vice President
Attorney, Ledger Square Law
(Joined in 2013)

Meredith Neal, Vice President
Project Manager, MRF Construction
(Joined in 2015)

Cindy Grady, Secretary, Events Committee Chair
Retail Wholesale Consultant
(Joined in 2015)

Erica Doctor, Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair
Attorney, Law Office of Erica Doctor
(Joined in 2016)

Members at Large
Allison Fitz
Student, Annie Wright
(Joined 2017)

April Bjorkman
Assistant VP & Relationship Manager, Wells Fargo
(Joined 2012)

Jeff Cohen, Civic Engagement Committee Chair
Assistant Professor, UWT
(Joined in 2015)
Loren Cohen, Land Development Chair (ad hoc)
Managing Director, MC Construction Management
(Joined in 2010)
Gloria Fletcher
Senior Real Estate Officer, City of Tacoma
(Joined in 2015)

Malik Gbenro
Title VIII Program Coordinator/Attorney, City of Tacoma
(Joined in 2017)

Emily Hall
Director, Executive Council for a Greater Tacoma
(Joined in 2014)

John Hines
Academic Equity & Access Officer,
Tacoma Public Schools
(Joined in 2017)

 Diana Hice
VP of Talent & Leadership Development, TrueBlue
(Joined in 2016)
Lisa Isenman
Communications Director, Annie Wright Schools
(Joined in 2017)

Cindy Matern 
Human Resources, University of Puget Sound
(Joined in 2016)

Christi McCarren
Senior Vice President, MultiCare
(Joined in 2018)

Kathryn McCarthy
Public Information Officer, Tacoma Public Schools
(Joined in 2016)

David Perry 
Pierce County Sheriff (Retired)
(Joined in 2016)

Cynthia Platon
Community Volunteer
(Joined in 2015)
Kara Robb                                       
Supervisor, Lakewood Vessel & Vehicle Licensing
(Joined in 2017)
April Sage
Senior Business Banking RM, KeyBank
(Joined in 2017)
Jennifer Weddermann
Architect, Weddermann Architecture, PLLC
(Joined in 2014)